instantreality forum
news: Welcome to the instantreality forums!

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
January 17, 2018, 08:26:00 am

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Oculus DK1 + Wiimote interaction  (Read 1900 times)
natibu

View Profile
« on: January 17, 2015, 04:38:38 pm »

Dear forum members,

I am quite new with instantreality and x3d. But I recently started working on my first little project and I have an issue which keeps me busy and I suspect there is a very simple solution:
I would like to watch a 3D-scene with an HMD (Oculus DK1) and navigate through it with a controller (wiimote).
So far I managed to connect the Oculus DK1 and viewed the classroom scene (provided by instantreality) as expected.
I also wrote a script which assigns translations to the steernavigator according to the pressed buttons on the wiimote. It worked very fine without the oculus.

But after adding the OVR routes, the orientation from this node seemed to overwrite the translation made with the wiimote.

I recognize, that there is a small translation if I press the wiimote-buttons. But it is only a step in the desired direction and this single step onla remains as long as I keep pressing the button. After releasing it, I jump back to the default position. Which means I am stuck. I can only wiggle around.

This route causes the corrupted wiimote translation:
<ROUTE fromNode='ovr' fromField='Orientation' toNode='viewpoint' toField='orientation'/>

The routes for my translation of the steernavigator are these:
<ROUTE fromNode='script' fromField='zTranslation' toNode='nav' toField='set_zTranslation'/>
<ROUTE fromNode='script' fromField='xTranslation' toNode='nav' toField='set_xTranslation'/>