instantreality forum
news: Welcome to the instantreality forums!
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
January 16, 2018, 10:37:12 am


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Viewpoint.centerOfRotation  (Read 7502 times)
sg
Newbie
*
Posts: 41


View Profile
« on: June 16, 2008, 11:26:42 am »

hello,

i have problems to set the centerOfRotation of the current Viewpoint. Normaly the box in my short example might rotate around the upper right boxcorner?

it only works manual by double-click on the object.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a second navigation problem is, that cause of the size of my scene the zoom steps by mouse are certainly by 100 m. i tried to solve this by scaling the whole scene, but this poses other problems (renderproblems because of then to small objects) Note: i'm navigating on a earth globe with full-scale dimensions due to GPS data.

question: is there a way to turn the zoom speed in examine mode downward, that i can reach my points without shooting beyond it also in big scenes?

regards from wuerzburg
sebastian
Logged
sg
Newbie
*
Posts: 41


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2008, 08:55:48 pm »

ok ... i will specify the problem a little more concrete. i'm positioning static avatar figures on my walk-route (positioned via GPS) in the scene. by touch on them the viewpoint gets the "man-coordinates and orientation" to fly behind the figures back. (in EXAMINE mode)
now i need the centerOfRotation exact in the avatars-center to rotate around him.
in the attached example the man is positioned at '100 200 300'.

<Viewpoint DEF='view_A' centerOfRotation='100 200 300' />

has no effect - i furthermore rotate round 0 0 0. i only can change the Viewpoint.CenterOfRotation by manualy double clicking on the character. (see attached screenshot). however the value printet by the StatusMessage furthermore is not written in the viewpoint, and nowhere else.

... how can i set this value?
Logged
yjung
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 260


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2008, 09:06:23 am »

Hallo Sebastian,

as far as I remember, an update of the centerOfRotation field simply isn't implemented yet...

Yvonne
Logged
sg
Newbie
*
Posts: 41


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2008, 11:18:56 am »

hello yvonne,

do you think that it is possible to implement the field update short-dated? else i would have to build a difficult navigation construct which would run other problems again.

I really appreciate your help, regards from wuerzburg
sebastian
Logged
jbehr
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 155


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2008, 04:57:26 pm »

<Viewpoint DEF='view_A' centerOfRotation='100 200 300' />

OK, I implemented the centerOfRotation support. I checked some other browser
and all implement it in the local Viewpoint camera system.

That means, since you Viewpoint is in two Transforms, the final center of
rotation is _not_ 100, 200, 300 but 104.95, 213, 319.

The next dailybuild (>= b10242) should include the fixes.

best regards
Johannes
Logged
pdaehne
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 250


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2008, 02:39:42 pm »

Hello Sebastian,

the dailybuild today does not include the changes Johannes made yesterday, please wait until tomorrow for the next dailybuild.

Bye,

Patrick
Logged
pdaehne
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 250


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2008, 06:58:56 pm »

Hello Sebastian,

there is now a new Instant Player version available on the dailybuild ftp server. Get the "leopard_ppc" version, it contains a universal binary for tiger.

Bye,

Patrick
Logged
sg
Newbie
*
Posts: 41


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2008, 02:39:16 pm »


thanx for implementation ... in works greatly.
when the viewpoint is in a changing transform, in my case i have to send:

VIEW_H.centerOfRotation = new SFVec3f(0, 0, 0);

to have the center at the right position (center of the avatar) again. i think this makes many navigation-types, primarily in examine mode, quite easyer and comfortable.

bye
sebastian
Logged
sg
Newbie
*
Posts: 41


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2008, 11:59:02 am »

is it possible to remove the <COR update> from the console LOG printout.
during interpolation, my centerOfRotation changes very often. so the LOG print causes litle delays. or is there a sysLogLevel which excludes LOG information?


regards
sebastian
Logged
jbehr
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Posts: 155


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2008, 02:05:34 pm »

OK, fixed. I changed the output from LOG to INFO in build >= b10295

regards
johannes
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.15 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines